Foundation board

Michał Kuryłowicz

Stefan’s son Michał, a paediatric surgeon, serves as President of the Management Board. He graduated from the Medical University of Warsaw with distinction, with a specialisation in general surgery. He works in the Institute of Hematology and Blood Transfusion, in the General, Oncological and Metabolic Surgery Clinic in Warsaw.

Ewa Maria Kuryłowicz

Ewa Maria Kuryłowicz chairs the foundation’s supervisory board. She holds the Polish academic title of Professor of architecture and is the chief designer and vice president in the Kuryłowicz & Associates architecture studio. She runs the Design and Architecture Theory Workshop in the Architecture Faculty of Warsaw University of Technology.

She is the founder of the Stefan Kuryłowicz Foundation.

Piotr Kuczyński

A vice president of the management board of Kuryłowicz & Associates, Piotr Kuczyński has been affiliated with the studio since 1983. He is the co-creator of many of the firm’s designs, including the Fuji Film Polska headquarters, Zielna-Point in Warsaw, Warsaw Metro Station A-17 and the Wolf-Bracka VitKac shopping centre. Kuczyński is also a three-time winner of SARP awards, and has won numerous architectural prizes and distinctions, including for the Focus Filtrowa Office Centre.

Marek Kuryłowicz

Management Board President of Kuryłowicz & Associates Wrocław and Kuryłowicz & Associates Engineering, Stefan Kuryłowicz’s younger son is a graduate of the Higher School of Social Psychology in Warsaw. He is engaged in the development and day to day operations of the studio.

Jeremi Mordasiewicz

Jeremi Mordasiewicz is an Advisor to the Management Board of Polish Confederation Lewiatan. He co-founded the Business Centre Club, serving as its vice president in 1991-2000. He is an academic teacher and construction entrepreneur. In the 1980s Mordasiewicz was an activist of the Solidarity opposition trade union, and since 1991 has been professionally affiliated with organisations of employers and entrepreneurs. He served as a member of the Tripartite Committee for Social and Economic Affairs and in 2015 was appointed to the newly created Social Dialogue Council. In 2005 he was decorated with the Knight’s Cross of the Order of Polonia Restituta.

Ewa P. Porębska

Ewa P. Porębska is an architect and editor in chief of the monthly Architektura-Murator, and serves as vice president of the Murator SA publishing house. She is a juror for competitions including the 2013 European Union Prize for Contemporary Architecture – Mies van der Rohe Award and the World Architecture Festival in Barcelona in 2008-2010, co-creator and curator of exhibitions including Form and non-form, Luxembourg, 2005. She has written articles on architectural subjects. For her services to the development and promotion of Polish architecture, Porębska was honoured with the medal of the Faculty of Architecture of the Cracow University of Technology and the Bene Merentibus medal of the SARP Association of Polish Architects. She chairs the jury of the Theory competition.

Jacek Purchla

Jacek Purchla is an art historian, a researcher on urban development, a person who’s passionate about issues of city planning, an economist and a professor of humanities. Since 1976 he has worked in the Cracow University of Economics, and since 1991 also at the Jagiellonian University. Since 2008 he has chaired the Department of Economic & Social History of the Cracow University of Economics and holds the UNESCO Chair in Heritage and Urban Studies. Since 2005 Purchla has headed the European History Department in the Jagiellonian University’s Institute of European Studies. In 2017 he was granted a doctorate honoris causa by Lviv Polytechnic National University. He founded the International Cultural Centre in Kraków, serving as its director for many years; he is the author of several publications and has received Polish and global honours and awards.

Jakub Wacławek

Jakub Wacławek is an architect and president of the ARÉ Stiasny/Wacławek studio. For many years he has lectured at the Architecture Faculty of Warsaw University of Technology. Since 1975 he has been a member of the Association of Polish Architects, and in 2006-2012 he served as president of the Board of the Warsaw Branch of SARP. From 2006-2013 he was deputy chairman of the Urban Planning and Architecture Committee of the office of the Mayor of Warsaw, and from 2007-2010 chaired the office’s Architecture and Development Council. He is the co-creator of several dozen architectural projects over the course of more than four decades. He chairs the Practice fellowship.

Jan Wiśniewski

Jan Wiśniewski is a specialist in commercial law and tax advisory, with degrees in law and in organisation and management from the University of Poznań. He is the Management Board President and co-founder of Kancelaria Artlex-Investment Sp. z o.o., and owner of Kancelaria Prima Tax & Lex Jan Wiśniewski.

Katarzyna Sentycz

Katarzyna Sentycz is Office Director of the Stefan Kuryłowicz Foundation. She’s an architect and a PhD student in the Architecture Department of Warsaw University of Technology. She oversees the dean’s grant for “Analysis of design process methodology in the context of current conditions of practising the profession of architect, with particular attention to issues of communication.”

Krystyna Wiśniewska

Krystyna Wiśniewska provides accounting and tax services for the Foundation. She is the finance director and chief accountant at Prima Tax & Lex Jan Wiśniewski in Warsaw. She graduated from the Finance and Banking Department of the University of Economics and Human Sciences in Warsaw with a Master’s degree in Management Accounting, Budgeting and Controlling in Enterprises.

In 1991-2012 she was affiliated with the bank PKOBP S. A. as a Corporate Client Advisor.